Hamilton Harriers
Hamilton Harriers

Grand Prix Rules

The Grand-Prix is a competition for all Hamilton Harriers that is held over a number of races throughout the year. 

The scoring system has been developed to give everyone a chance of winning the Grand-Prix.


For the benefit of all members, the aim is to:

  • encourage members to turn out for more races during the year
  • improve performance levels across the board
  • introduce a more competitive element into club running throughout the year

The Grandprix follows of a number of rules, which are:


  1. Points are awarded on completion of a race - 5 points for 1st home, down to 1 pt for 5th place and/or finishing
  2. For every 3 races where a runner scores 1 point, an additional 5 bonus points are awarded
  3. 6 races must be completed throughout the season to qualify, including one half marathon
  4. Any marathon run also counts as 5 points - only one per runner is awarded points
  5. The list of qualifying races set out at the start of the year are found below. Any race that is cancelled will be replaced by a race in the same distance category (where possible);
  6. Top 12 scores (or less if 12 races not completed) added together to produce final year total for each runner
  7. Club vest must be worn to qualify, and registered as club member for results (assuming you have a vest of course! – speak to Ross Bickerstaff if you don’t)


National XC
Down by the River 10k
Tom Scott (both distances)
Alloa Half M
Glasgow (both distances)
Kirkudbright (both distances)
Great North Run
Kirkintilloch 10k
Calderglen (both distances)
Mens Health/Womens 10k
Strathaven 10k
Marymass 10k
Jimmy Irvine 10k
Helensburgh 10k
Dumbarton 10k
Vale of Leven 10k



Men's standings (no double-score jokers applied):

Harrier no. of races points
Simon Fraser 8 38
Ross Bickerstaff 11 34
David Raeside 7 29
Andrew Bickerstaff 6 14
Andrew McLinden 3 13
David Butcher 6 13
David Kelly 7 12
Jason Miles Campbell 6 12
Jamie Cunningham 3 11
Stephen Duffy 2 10
Murray McAlpine 3 10
Richard Murciano 2 7
Michael Maxton 4 7
Ian Burch 2 6
Adrian Bickerstaff 2 6
Kenny Pringle 3 6
Gary McLaughlan 1 5
Alan Muir 2 4
David Dawson 1 3
Roy Foot 1 2
Mark Hull 2 2
John Dickson 2 2
Ewart Gray  1 1
Terry Grady 1 1

Women's standings (no double-score jokers applied):


Harrier no. of races points
Lesley Marshall 5 24
Gerinta Walker 3 15
Janette Clarkson 2 10
Evelyn Struthers 2 10
Lyndsay Findlay 2 8
Natalie Wood 1 5


Want to become a member?

contact us directly using our online contact form or facebook page


Hamilton Harriers attend one of the local Parkruns on a chosen Saturday of the month - next date to be confirmed.
Click here to register



Hamilton Harriers

Uddingston Cricket and Sports Club
Bothwell Castle Policies

Castle Avenue


G71 7HJ

Print Print | Sitemap
© Hamilton Harriers